KIRK HAMMETT: DAVID BOWIE ‘Was A Pretty Huge Influence On Me And Other People’ In METALLICA

kirkhammettMETALLICA‘s Kirk Hammett has paid tribute to David Bowie, who died on January 10, two days after his 69th birthday. During an appearance on a recent edition of the “One On One With Mitch Lafon” podcast (Facebook page), the guitarist said: “[Bowie‘s] influence on me was huge. ‘Changesonebowie’ was one of the… part of a handful of albums that I bought when I was a young kid. I had decided to make a point of going out to the record store and buying albums from artists that I heard on the radio. It was Elton John, it was David Bowie, it was KISS, it was THIN LIZZY and it was LED ZEPPELIN. And that was my first batch of albums that I bought. And the Bowie album was ‘Changesonebowie’, and I bought it because I loved the song ‘Fame’ and I loved the song ‘Golden Years’. And they were just so completely different from anything else that was playing on the radio back then. And I really got into it.”

 

Listen by clicking on linke below

https://www.spreaker.com/embed/player/standard?episode_id=7596027

Leave a Reply

